Preview: Honeyhoney at the Fillmore

HoneyHoney-116.1

Honeyhoney is a band that has been on my radar ever since I saw their video for “Little Toy Gun” on Fuse (in my defense Fuse used to be semi-cool. Okay, I realize that’s a false statement, but I get lost in miasma on occasion) directed by Kiefer Sutherland. I thought they were a cool pop/indie band, but then when I dug deeper they turned out to be such a brilliant little alt. country band that I started running through their discography like a heroin addict runs through needles.

Not only are they talented, but they’re fun and don’t take themselves too seriously. That is a huge plus in my book. What a treat, then that they are playing the Fillmore next Thursday, January 17th, with Trampled by Turtles. I’ve spoken about how amazing Trampled by Turtles are on here ad nauseum, but this lineup is going to make for one hell of a show. Honeyhoney out of Venice, California are bringing back the type of California country rock that Gram Parsons and Emmylou Harris did about 40 years ago. It’s also similar to the Band’s Levon Helm and Emmylou Harris during Martin Scorsese’s Last Waltz where they play the wonderful song “Evangeline”. Tickets are available here. Music available here. Quick you still have time to catch up and say you’ve been a long time fan!

One thought on “Preview: Honeyhoney at the Fillmore

Leave a Reply

