Top 25 Songs of 2012 – #14 – 11

#14 – Dumpster World – Band of Horses

Their last album was very ethereal and dreamy. This one took on a more folk rock style and their Crosby, Stills and Nash sounding “Dumpster World” exemplifies that change like no other. They showed range, amazing melodies and harmonies. To me it’s the best song they’ve ever done.

#13 – Work it Out – Hannah Williams and the Tastemakers

Chances are you haven’t heard of this British soulful import, but hopefully this puts her on your radar. With melodies not heard since James Brown was around and vocals reminiscent of Janis Joplin, Hannah Williams works it out on this track.

#12 – The End of the World is Bigger than Love – Jens Lekman

Jens was on my concert bucket list and I got to see him this year. This song is a brilliant depiction of a break up and his being in DC when Obama was elected as he stayed with some friends. Jens has a way of just making everything sound better. Truth be told I could put most of his songs on this list and I don’t think it’d be a stretch.

#11 – Turn it Around – Lucius

These two girls burst onto my radar earlier this year and I was all in when I heard this song. So fun and similar to girl groups of the ‘60’s with their melodic vocals that I just know they’re going to be great. Keep them firmly affixed to your radar.

Leave a Reply

