Jim James – Know Til Now

Jim James, the brilliant singer from My Morning Jacket, has set a date for his debut solo album. On February 5, 2013, Regions of Light and Sound of God will be released on ATO Records. James says:

“I wanted the album to sound like it came from a different place in time. Perhaps sounding as if it were the past of the future, if that makes any sense—like a hazy dream that a fully-realized android or humanoid capable of thought might have when it reminisces about the good old days of just being a simple robot. I take walks a lot and as I walk, songs kind of build in my mind, and I start adding and subtracting things. So I had a full vision for a lot of the songs on this album before I even recorded one note.”

I’ll admit that sounds a bit abstract, but when you listen to the first song released it makes more sense. There’s a little known graphic novel from 1929 called God’s Man by Lynd Ward and that is where James got much of his inspiration, saying, “God’s Man came to me at a very important time. Some of the things happening in the book were happening to me in real life, in a very strange and painful, then a very beautiful way.”

The music almost sounds a bit like Sade meets future self. It’s a nice mix between ambient, R&B and  soul. The released track, “Know Til Now” is a perfect example of that. The song is available for download for free here. You can also pre-order the album there. Check out “Know Til Now” it’s a great song:

Leave a Reply

